Service Group Sanger and Next Generation Sequencing (NGS)


Next Generation Sequencing (NGS) has revolutionized the study of molecular biology and genomics sciences. The access to state-of-the-art sequencing technologies of the research community is essential, but is not available for all groups working in the fields.

Therefore, the Service Group NGS of the Institute of Genome Biology offers its expert assistance services to internal and external collaboration to perform research on functional genomics analyses. Further specific services are developed upon a request particularly within NGS projects and consortia of functional genome analysis of farmed animals.
Our Illumina HiSeq2500 and cBot system typically generates single-end reads or paired-end reads up to 280 million clusters (reads) per lane and 8 lanes per a high-output flowcell. We offer sequencing services for DNA and RNA as well as microbial 16S metagenomics. Our services include standard sequencing listed below, but can be also custom or other specific application.

  • RNA-Seq (Total RNA, mRNA, depletion protocols)
  • miRNA-Seq
  • ChIP-Seq
  • DNA methylation sequencing (RRBS and WGBS)
  • 16S/18S-Seq metagenome.

Our standard NGS workflow includes sample processing, DNA library preparation and Next Generation Sequencing as well as bioinformatics assistance and advances data analysis.
In addition, we also offer a service for Sanger sequencing to complement the holistic NGS sequencing methods. Templates for standard Sanger sequencing comprise:

  • PCR products
  • Recombinant vector DNA

Servicegruppe Sanger und Next-Generation-Sequenzierung (NGS)


Durch die Next-Generation-Sequenzierung (NGS) wurde die Forschung im Bereich der Molekularbiologie und der Genomik revolutioniert. Ein Zugang zu dieser modernen Sequenzierungstechnologie ist daher für in diesen Forschungsgebieten arbeitende Gruppen oft erforderlich, steht aber nicht überall direkt zur Verfügung.

Die Servicegruppe NGS aus dem Hause der Genombiologie bietet daher ihre Expertise hierzu als Service für FBN-interne und -externe Kollaborationen im Bereich der funktionellen Genomanalyse an. Des Weiteren werden von uns auf Anfrage spezifische methodische Protokolle für NGS-Projekte und Fragestellungen zur funktionellen Genomanalyse landwirtschaftlicher Nutztiere entwickelt.
Unser NGS-Sequenzierer HiSeq2500 von Illumina arbeitet mit einer Hochdurchsatz-Flowcell aus 8 Lanes und generiert hierbei bis zu 280 Millionen single-end oder paired-end Reads per Lane. Wir bieten die Sequenzierung von DNA, RNA sowie des mikrobiellen 16s-Metagenoms an. Unser Service erstreckt sich auf folgende etablierte Sequenzierungsmethoden

  • RNA-Seq (Gesamt-RNA, mRNA, Depletionsprotokolle)
  • miRNA-Seq
  • ChIP-Seq
  • DNA methylation sequencing (RRBS und WGBS)
  • 16S/18S-Seq metagenome.

Die Be- und Verarbeitung von NGS-Daten beinhaltet für uns standardmäßig die Probenvorbereitung, die Vorbereitung der DNA-Libraries, die Next-Generation-Sequenzierung selbst sowie die bioinformatische Unterstützung bei der Auswertung sämtlicher erhobener Daten.
Zusätzlich bieten wir eine Sanger-Sequenzierung als Ergänzung zur holistischen NGS-Sequenzierung an. Routinemäßig werden dafür bearbeitet:

  • PCR-Produkte
  • Rekombinante Vektor-DNA